Fleabag at the Soho Theatre; a Guilty Giggle!

Phoebe Waller-Bridge is brilliant in her self written, one woman, one hour play, Fleabag. I didn’t know what to expect, I went upon recommendation, with little information other than, it’s great! And, what do you know, it was great, bloomin’ marvellous I’d stretch to say. Clearly aimed at twenty or thirty-somethings, who haven’t lived a sheltered life, the show explores a variety or hilariously embarrassing as well as heartbreakingly tragic scenarios, all of which happening to one, rather odd, sexually driven, terminally awkward, morally complex woman. From the very start the audience joins together in fits laughter, which makes the moments of sadness just that bit more desperate and poignant.

Phoebe Waller-Bridge as a Fleabag!
Phoebe Waller-Bridge as a Fleabag!

Waller-Bridge’s comic timing and characterful portrayal, that cannot be put into words so I won’t try, made me forget that it was an impressive, hour-long, monologue. One might be apprehensive about potentially watching a woman prattle on for an hour, I know my friend had misgivings, but Waller-Bridge and director Vicky Jones put it together in such a way that the hour skipped by, to my disappointment, and it felt as though we could have been watching five actors on stage, not just the one.

This play is a example of inventive, funny and witty writing which had the audience transfixed through out. I’m a sucker when it comes to anything to do with animals, so when this hopelessly entertaining woman starts spewing ceaselessly about the antics of a punky guinea pig, which in essence should be the opposite of punky, with a very un-punky name, Hillary, I was laughing so much that I welled up with tears. That doesn’t happen often for me, so huge thumbs up! All skeleton’s are freed from inside their cupboard and we are permitted to revel in another’s shame and misfortune.

Unfortunately, this run around, the play only has another few days to go, finishing on the 25th of May, but I’m sure (pleadingly hopeful) that this will not be Phoebe’s last London performance of Fleabag. I have many friends who would love to see it, and some too, who would benefit from seeing it; it encourages us to live a little, to not let life just wash over us, but also to appreciate all that we have… at least, that’s what I took from it… after the cheek stretching humour of course.

Leave a Reply

