10 Top Books…

I was asked a few days ago to list my top 10 books, or at least, the top 10 that stayed with me in some way in a quick note without thinking, without forethought, and I have since considered that it would be very well suited to being on here, my wee blog. Maybe all aren’t fabulous classics, maybe they aren’t definitive, but here… 10 books that have stayed with me in some way in no particular order, with a short snappy explanation, I hope it inspires you to read some…

8/10... Birdsong and He's Just Not That Into You on loan...
8/10… Birdsong and He’s Just Not That Into You on loan…
  • In the Heart of The Sea – Nathaniel Philbrick – The amazing book about the true story of the sperm whale attack on the Nantucket whaling ship, The Essex, and their fight for life. It is the event that inspired Moby Dick. Just brilliant! (And coming out as a film next year with Chris Hemsworth and Cillian Murphy and Ben Wishaw, I can’t wait!)
  • The Magus – John Fowels – It was recommended to me and described as a ‘mind f**k,’ it is indeed a ‘mind f**k,’ and I wouldn’t want to say anything more in recommending it to others.
  • Bridget Jones, Mad About the Boy – Helen Fielding – it’s honest, funny and uncomplicated. Simply entertaining and heart-warming.
  • The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins – this inspired my interest in dystopian and then science fiction literature. Detailed and convincing dystopian world created and heart breaking plight. (Some may say it is like Battle Royal… but I haven’t read that, so I could enjoy this without such a comparison.)
  • Brave New World – Aldous Huxley – full on science fiction. Wonderfully perceptive of our society and its possible degradation.
  • Perfume – Patrick Suskind – indulgently dark and Gothic, heightens your senses.
  • He’s Just Not That Into You – Greg Brehrendt and Liz Tuccillo – Just funny. It may be heart breaking and cuttingly honest depending on your emotional state. If a woman, you’ll enjoy it, if a man, you’ll burn it.
  • Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks – Great and gritty story of the horrors and others of war.
  • The Odyssey – Homer – proved to me that the ancient classics could be entertaining. A journey and an epic one at that.
  • Eat Pray Love – Elizabeth Gilbert – A memoir, touching and inspirational. Personal and geographical exploration. Inspired me to travel alone, to just get up and go.
4 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks like a good list! I’ve done The Odyssey of course and Brave New World. Bridget Jones I’ve only seen the movies. Hunger Games I kind of chalked up to “teen fare” so I hadn’t actually thought of reading it myself. But the little blurbs you give each book make me anxious to read them, especially In the Heart of the Sea and He’s Just Not That Into You…..will give them a look! Thank you.

    1. fayelucinda8 says:

      Welcome! Glad you found it interesting. In the Heart of the Sea I would highly recommend, I’ve read it most recently and it’s the one I want to pass on to all of my friends. Thanks for coming by!

  2. André says:

    I still remember Brave New World. I read it years and years a go. Really scary world.

    1. fayelucinda8 says:

      Great isn’t it. H. G. Well’s Time Machine is great too… imaginative dystopia inspired by the class system of Victorian England having evolved into two different species! Thanks for dropping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

