Where’s the Wall?

I have been writing a novel for nearly a year now… I still cannot quite believe that it has been that long… or that short… the whole experience has been, er, novel. I had no great, soaring ambition, no goal of conquering the literary world, not even the intention of actually writing a whole book when I started last October/November. See, I can’t actually remember exactly when I started. I just know that I did.

Having written creatively as part of my English degree which culminated with my getting a First (yes, I dropped that in, I couldn’t help myself) last summer, I knew the pleasure that writing could bring. Pleasure, company, therapy. So, finding myself in London with few connections other than my sister who was in the throes of an intensive architecture degree, I turned to writing. I have loved every minute of it.

But here’s the thing. As my little idea, which is based around an honest story of love, friendship and self-discovery (and all the pitfalls that come with them), as it started to grow, seed-into-tree-esque if you will, I kept waiting for that moment where I would hit the wall. Where writer’s block would strike and I would battle, silently, solemnly, as I imagined a writer would, trying to move forwards but, actually, just standing still. Stalemate. In a literary No Man’s Land, myself on one side, my writing on the other, a mess of words in between us. This never came though. I am certainly not saying that the writing process is easy, it has not been… I have probably accelerated my oncoming wrinkles and encouraged a premature growth of grey hairs with the late nights and character disputes which I, the writer, was far too involved in. But maybe that is why I have managed, thus far, to avoid hitting that wall, because I feel for my characters. Each one has a place in my heart. They are like me and yet they are so incredibly unlike me that I wish I could be more like them. Caring for their lives, which I have sculpted with these fingertips, has meant that I want them to carry on living and to reach that resolution that I know, and they know, is coming, and that they wholly deserve it.

Writing is a funny thing. I am nearly finished and I dearly hope that this wall that I have so far avoided does not creep up on me with my final chapters. (I have two to go, AH!) There are tougher and, I expect, wrinkle and grey hair inducing times ahead for this here writer and her first novel. But I am pretty damn happy to have made it this far, let’s wait and see. Well, you wait… I’ll write.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Vernon says:

    That’s pretty cool. Well I have been working on my first novel for six mouths now. I haven’t built the first character yet..smh. Well I do know her name. Anyway, yesterday I made a schedule for me to work from. Building characters and writing in different voice has been a challenge for me. Also my wife and I are going to London in three years for our fifth year wedding anniversary. I hope you write about London sometimes. I seen you on Opinionated Man and thought I would pay your blog a visit. I’m glad I did.

    1. fayelucinda8 says:

      Ah, thank you very much! Yes, there are occasional ‘uncategorised’ London musings. I hope you enjoy your trip. I suppose with the writing, finishing the first draft is only the first part of a long process, I’m looking forward to lots of rewrites I have no doubt. Thanks for dropping by.

  2. I think since this just started flowing out of you that perhaps there is now wall this time because the story needs to be told and told by you. I think those walls don’t happen so much when you’re writing true stories….there’s no wall because there’s no invention?

    1. fayelucinda8 says:

      Yes, where it started was very close to me, but it has moved further away since I started, probably why I have managed to avoid the wall as you say. I suppose that, yes, if you are writing true stories then you know what happens! I have some decisions to make about my final chapters, which have moved away from truth. I’m going to give myself a little while longer to umm and arr, but sometimes there is a way a story needs to finish. We’ll see!

      1. Well, I look forward to seeing where it ends up. You’ll have to post an ad on your blog when it’s done!

      2. fayelucinda8 says:

        Ah I will, I need to get better at selling myself an my work 🙂

Leave a Reply

