Mr Watercolour Robin

image (10)

Say hello to my little friend… Robin, Watercolour Robin.

Watercolour has never been my medium of choice… probably because to get it right takes a looser touch, or at least a touch that is not so used to acrylic paint, but I want to get better at it. I found that I could allow the paint to dry and then steadily build up the layers with darker colours, adding in the finer details like the wing and the beak with darker, dryer paint. Doing the layering method brings a lovely textured effect to this puffy, feathery bird.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    This is a reallt lovely picture 😀

    1. fayelucinda says:

      Ah, thank you very much 🙂 He’s a sweet little fellow. I’ll have to paint him some friends soon.

  2. I love your little robin!

    1. fayelucinda says:

      Thank you! I like to think he’s got a cheeky twinkle in his eye!

Leave a Reply

