Snow Finally Comes to London…

photo (5)

I wake up this morning in my warm duvet-cocoon in London, draw my curtains and finally, finally, we have snow! So, of course, like any snow fan, I take myself for a walk in our local park to kick around the fluffy white stuff, not caring that my toes get steadily damp and numb as the snow soaks through my trainers. The sound is like no other; the squeaky crunch of compressing it beneath your feet. Wonderful. Then there’s the constant risk that you might slip, flail dramatically like an over active human windmill, and fall back on your bottom, plonk! Thankfully, I managed to avoid such a conclusion… but did walk around tentatively like a penguin just in case.

As I wander through the near empty park, it’s heart-warming to see a little herd of nursery children, each dressed in pudgy onesies which make them look like colourful, mini versions of the Michelin Man. Snow provides endless fun for children of that age. I mean, toddlers are so close to the ground they probably feel at one with the snow, so it’s understandable when you see them scuffling around in the stuff.

photo 2

I wish I could say that I made this chilly little fellow, but I didn’t. It was a charming find in the middle of the melting white park. I like to think he’s mid wink!

Here’s to snow days!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hear, Hear! Love snow days! Currently, we’re buried under about 18 inches of the stuff! Beautiful! Am glad you finally joined the winter party…….love that little snowman!

    1. fayelucinda says:

      Thanks, he’s a cutie! Cwor, 18 inches! Unfortunately the sun has emerged and scared away our light icing of snow. But it’s a start!

Leave a Reply

