Watercolour No.5 – Miss Giraffe

They’re really funny creatures, giraffes, so why not try painting one? Unlike Mr Hare, I started with a sketch to get the main outline. I think I prefer the freedom that comes with not sketching first, but it is certainly harder and much more can go wrong. With Miss Giraffe here, I also have the initial sketch, which really is just simple, strong lines to make sure I get the shape of the head which is so characterful and unique. Then I started building up the layers of watercolour, keeping it fairly loose and fairly wet. This is very different to Mr Hare and my Sweet Peas, I’m still trying to figure out which style I prefer. I love the Sweet Peas style, but I wonder how well that would transfer to animals in comparison to flowers?

The finished painting
The finished painting
The initial sketch and first strokes
The initial sketch and first strokes
6 Comments Add yours

  1. segmation says:

    I love this piece! So realistic. Does Miss Giraffe have a first name?

    1. fayelucinda says:

      Thanks. Well, funny you should ask… I have a ginger friend named Debbie and she asked for a dedication… so there we go. Miss Debbie Giraffe!

  2. I love her! She looks like she’s also contemplating whether your attempt at this art is going to work out well or not (LOL!). I think it’s smashing!

    1. fayelucinda says:

      Ha, thanks! Yes she is rather quizzical! I think she needs a twinkle in her eye to bring her even more to life, but she’s a kind old dear.

  3. I love this. Where did you learn to do this? Did you teach yourself or go to school for it?

    http://www.enterspree.com
    http://www.heychanelli.wordpress.com

    1. fayelucinda says:

      Thank you 🙂 It’s mainly through practice and seeing how other people paint with watercolour then trying things out for yourself.

Leave a Reply

