Happy Easter – Watercolour Guinea Pigs are Easter-y, Right?

Happy Easter bloggers! I’ve been working on my watercolours and here is one of my most recent – Mr. Guinea Pig. I know, it’s not an Easter bunny, but guinea pigs don’t get much of a look in in general, so I’m letting this little buddy join the Easter party.photo (12)I found him very difficult as it took a great deal of courage to get those strong, bold strokes for the characteristic, spiky hair. But once I got a hold of the technique, I was flying. What I love in particular about this curious piggy is the amount of white that is maintained. This is a feature that I have found to be particularly successful with watercolours, but is a difficult technique to get the hang of as you must bring the white out of the page, bring it forwards, by not touching it at all. It’s quite a discipline – I hope I’m getting there.

I designed this at first as a birthday card for someone who was receiving guinea pigs for their birthday and I was pleasantly surprised with the result, it was wonderfully similar to one of the guinea pigs they were given…

photo (13)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    This is too cool/cute/amazing. 😀

  2. blumarine says:

    Have been meaning to comment on this for ages. This is such a cool pic, you are a very talented artist. Any chance I can get a copy (maybe DM me on FB or similar)? Keep up the good work 🙂 Helen

    1. FayeLucinda says:

      Oh thanks Helen! Actually Fran mentioned this to me a week or so ago. I’m sure I can organise something. I’ll try and sort something out for our next meeting – if not, I’ll DM you and post it 🙂 Glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

